APAN (Asia Pacific Advanced Network) Network Research Workshop 2014

August 11, 2014


The APAN (Asia Pacific Advanced Network) Network Research Workshop 2014 (APAN-NRW 2014), to be held as a part of the 38th APAN Nantou Meeting, will be the eleventh event in the series (started from 2004 Cairns Meeting). Graduate students and researchers from Asia-Pacific and elsewhere gather in this one-day forum to discuss their work in progress and visions for research activities. The goal of this event is to provide the venue for exchanging research ideas and best practices in the broad field of realistic network and application research, covering network technology, network applications, and network management and operation.


This workshop solicits long and short papers with a broad scope in network areas. Relevant topics include but are not limited to:

  1. Network technology: wireless & mobile networks, optical networks, future network technology, ad hoc and sensor networks, delay and disruption-tolerant networks, Future Internet, software-defined networking (SDN), network functions virtualization (NFV), cloud computing infrastructure & networking, and others.
  2. Network management and operation: network security, traffic measurement, performance analysis, energy-aware network management and control, and others.
  3. Networked applications: distributed networked applications, ubiquitous computing technology, grid/cloud computing applications, immersive media applications, and others.
  4. E-culture, e-health, e-science applications: advanced/unified collaboration environments, cyber networked performance, e-health & remote medical activities, e-science infrastructure and applications, social science with Internet, and others.

Paper Submission:

Papers must be unpublished and not considered elsewhere for publication. All papers should use the designated template [Download Here]. Please check below for categories of papers. Papers must be submitted electronically in MS-Word or PDF format. For submission template and other details, please refer the submission guideline from APAN-NRW 2014 web site (check the "Paper Submission" section). All accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings. If you have any further questions, please send an email to jongwon_AT_nm.gist.ac.kr.

  • Regular papers (7~12 pages): Regular papers with oral presentations.
  • Short papers (3~4 pages): Short papers with oral presentations.
  • Poster papers (1~2 pages): Poster papers with poster presentations. Selected papers that could not be accommodated for initially-submitted categories (Regular and Short) may be recommended for Poster Paper Category.

The submission web page is https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=apannrw2014.

Travel Support Opportunity and Student Paper Award:

Fellowship award: APAN will announce a fellowship program, providing financial support for students to partially cover the cost for attending the APAN meetings. (Note that you should also apply for the APAN fellowship program separately. Check APAN web site for more information.) Presenters of accepted papers will have a favored status to be selected as APAN meeting fellows.

Best student paper: Best student paper(s) will be selected based on the technical merit and significance of the paper, and be recognized by the workshop TPC. All accepted papers which have been primary authored and presented by a full-time student are eligible for this award.

Important Dates:

  • Paper Submission Deadline: May 31, 2014 June 15, 2014
  • Acceptance Notification: July 14, 2014
  • Camera Ready Manuscripts: July 21, 2014
  • Workshop Date: August 11, 2014

APAN-NRW 2014 Committee Members

Workshop Chair and Technical Program Committee Chair

JongWon Kim, GIST, Korea

Publicity and Local Arrangement

Manesha Hettipathirana, APAN Secretariat

N. S. Weerakoon, APAN Secretariat


ByungRae Cha, GIST, Korea

Technical Program Committee

JongWon Kim, GIST, Korea

Chaodit Aswakul, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Jun Bi, Tsinghua University, China

Nevil Brownlee, University of Auckland, New Zealand

ByungRae Cha, GIST, Korea

Chalermpol Charnsripinyo, NECTEC, Thailand

Boncheol Goo, KAIST GSCT, Korea

Shigeki Goto, Waseda University, Japan

Sangwoo Han, Agency for Defense Development, Korea

Dongsoo Har, KAIST, Korea

Eui-Nam Huh, Kyunghee University

Eiji Kawai, NICT, Japan

Yong-moo Kwon, KIST, Korea

HyunYong Lee, University of Tokyo, Japan

Teck Chaw Ling, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Eueung Mulyana, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia

Koji Okamura, Kyushu University, Japan

Sanghoon Park, Samsung Thales, Korea

Sun Park, GIST, Korea

Nimal Ratnayake, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka

Seung-Joon Seok, Kyungnam University, Korea

Wang-Cheol Song, Jeju National University, Korea

Nguyen Huu Thanh, Hanoi University of Science & Technology, Vietnam

Yufeng Xin, RENCI, USA

Kitamura Yasuichi, NICT, Japan